So usually when I write a Zoomtard everyone is like, “Oh Kevin you are so smart and so wise and your rapidly greying hair makes you so attractive.” Or, “Kevin, you are the closest a theologian has ever come to reminding me of Shakira”. Last time me and the Pope had coffee he insisted I take mine with a shot of Smirnoff Ice (he claimed that was a Bavarian tradition) and he told me that Zoomtard posts are “Einfach Klasse!”

So I was surprised when no one liked my most excellent MP3s-as-underwear analogy a while back. But I thought a little bit about it.

And I still think the Pope is right. I rock.

My basic contention is that music is a vocation. It is not an industry in the sense that we have seen it for the last fifty years. Many livelihoods can be supported by vocational activities. But not many episodes of Cribs.

Prophesy from 'Toothpaste for dinner'

If we are going to live in western democracies then we have to accept the most basic ground rule that the market is king. Technology has outstripped the market in a way that cannot be legislated or regulated back into place. So either the market for music licences purchased by the consumer has to change (shrink) or insist on staying as it is and die.

I have access to every great painting created in the last 800 years. It’s here at the tap of my keyboard. I can embed Da Vinci into my powerpoint presentations and I can stick a perfectly copied Mark Wallinger sculpture on the front of a mix cd for a friend I make of legitimately purchased albums (which is illegal).

Has art stopped? Simply because I can access the finest Irish contemporary landscapes in seconds and take them all home for free to print at my desk doesn’t mean that artists have stopped painting.

It does mean that when your daughter says she wants to become an artist, you know she will probably always be a bit poor.

But that was always the likelihood with art.

And with music.

People still have a hunger for painting and sculpture in an age when we can digitally mimic the great masters in our home. And I predict that in decades to come, when all your music is not produced by the same five companies, your kids and grandkids will have as diverse and explorational a musical palette as you have. But they probably will mostly be musicians living and working in your city, gigging in your coffeeshops and venues and maybe even working fulltime for the government.

By the way, apropos of nothing at all, here’s a link to Mumblin’ Deaf Ro, my favourite Irish songwriter. He works for the government. He takes many years to make an album. His two albums are masterpieces. And we sent him an email one day and asked him to come play at our wedding and he came. He only lived on the other side of the city.

You probably still don’t agree with me. So at least go read the moderate side of my position over at Marginal Revolution.

Your Correspondent, Has a special harddrive to back up the Zig And Zag albums