Bad Science hits classic territory:

You will be familiar with the Daily Mail’s ongoing project to divide all the inanimate objects in the world into the ones that either cause or prevent cancer.

While the other great thing about the Guardian newspaper, the incomparable Charlie Brooker, hangs up his insult pen:

Oh, I tried to make the odd point here and there, but the bulk of it – the stuff people actually remember – consists of playground, yah-boo stuff.

I was horrible.

A list of cooking myths, which was interesting to me because I am learning to cook. Email me, you can come round for something I flambé.

People have been loving this map of Africa:
Africa, in proportion

I have a Hobo-Dyer projection map on my office wall. I encourage you to have one in front of your eyes every day. Proportion is disproportionately neglected.

After publishing this little blog I intend to go finish Chris Hitchens’ disappointing memoirs but his work in Vanity Fair continues to blow my mind.

Finally, especially if you don’t know who he is, read this interview with the most thought provoking Christian thinker living today: Stanley Hauerwas in Third Way magazine.

Your Correspondent, Surrounded in lies.

