For 12 long years I have thought about buying Play It As It Lays every time I find it in a bookshop. Ever since Douglas Coupland said it was “like somebody’s smashing windows in your head, in a good way”. It delivers. A brilliant read with a compelling description of an upscale backstreet abortion that captures the objectification that is the lot of women.

Didion

“You think you’ll buy a Camaro,” Maria said in the neutral tone of a therapist.

“Get the right price, I just might. I got a friend, he can write me a sweet deal if it’s on the floor much longer. They almost had a buyer last week but lucky for me – here, Maria, right here, pull into the driveway.”

Maria turned off the ignition and looked at the man in the white duck pants with an intense and grateful interest. In the past few minutes he had significantly altered her perception of reality: she saw now that she was not a woman parking a Corvette outside a tract house while a man in white pants talked about buying a Camaro. There was no more to it than that. “Lucky for you what?”

“Lucky for me, the guy’s credit didn’t hold up.”

Your Correspondent, Was the extra with his pants down at the end of Teen Wolf

