Gilead by Colin J. Campbell
Marilynne Robinson was asked by a PBS journalist “As one who sometimes has trouble with this himself, and I know a lot of people who do, too, I would be interested in hearing about why you believe in God”.

I know this might not seem like the best answer in the world, but I do not not believe in God. If I were to say I don’t believe in God, I would feel that I was saying something that was not true.
I don’t think that we have a basis in our experience that allows us to put together a case for the existence of God. I don’t think that’s intended. I think that people who feel that they have to be able to put it together in that way, arrive at it rationally, as it were, simply lack acquaintance with the extreme fallibility and limitedness of human capacities for reason and for gathering relevant information and all the rest of it. I think the feeling of amazement that I think is appropriate to an alerted sense of what being is leads very naturally to deep comfort with the assumption of God.

I do not not believe in God.

I could only say it as well now that I have read it, memorised it and can repeat it. I do not not believe in God.

People sometimes reveal they envy my faith. They just can’t bring themselves to believe it.

I couldn’t either. It seemed foolishness until I stumbled, in pure amazement into the acute realisation that all of life and everything in it was a gift. I found the end of myself. Or in Robinson’s words, I experienced “the extreme fallibility and limitedness of human capacities for reason and for gathering relevant information and all the rest of it”. When faith burst in on me, I found that the believe in/don’t believe in question was as irrelevant as asking what colour the curtains are in heaven.

So maybe your challenge for today is seek out that giftedness of the life you live, the story you inhabit and the world that cavorts around you. Pop out of the tight strictures of thinking everything can be attained by steps on a mental ladder. Break free of the method. Dive into the art of life, where we find an alerted sense of what being is which leads very naturally to deep comfort with the assumption of God.

Your Correspondent, Is meant to be on sabbatical from Zoomtard

