After an astoundingly difficult week where my brain actually stopped working for a few scary hours on Monday morning, I am now finishing off my second essay of the day and feeling good again. Oh yeah. I can hear the Spirit whispering, “If you live by your academic performance you die by your academic performance”. And I respond by saying, “Spirit, I don’t want to have to blaspheme you! Sssh!”

One of the many moments when I realised how mighty damn cool my friend Chrissy is was sitting in an airport terminal one day when she quoted Brian Eno. Maybe one of these days it will be compulsary to appreciate Brian Eno before you work for a church. Maybe.

Also, while we’re talking Maybes, maybe one of these someone will come good and get me an Oblique Strategies set for my birthday. Cough cough.

Anyway, Eno has this to say:

Singing aloud leaves you with a sense of levity and contentedness. And then there are what I would call “civilizational benefits.” When you sing with a group of people, you learn how to subsume yourself into a group consciousness because a capella singing is all about the immersion of the self into the community. That’s one of the great feelings — to stop being me for a little while and to become us. That way lies empathy, the great social virtue.

Maybe I should stop citing that old C.S. Lewis line about worship music being fifth rate poetry set to sixth rate music?

In college today I saw classmates pass notes like they were 15 and I didn’t want to be in on that note passing. I caught myself being Mature Student and rolling my eyes at their paper-based flirting. We’re trying to learn about the liturgical significance of baptism here, ya know? Also, a college employee used a very loud petrol driven leaf blower all around the library. That’s hardly best practice is it? Can’t even mustre mediocre practice in fact. Finally, our college canteen went on fire. No more bouncy chips. An era dies and a generation cries.

I should really submit some poetry to the college newspaper.

Your Correspondent, Not afraid of things because they’re easy to do

