So little old Ireland gets to decide for the whole of big old Europe tomorrow whether to embrace our Reform Treaty. Which treaty is that? Oh this one of course:

TREATY OF LISBON, AMENDING THE TREATY ON EUROPEAN UNION AND THE TREATY ESTABLISHING THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITY

Are you stupid or something? How plain can the Eurocrats make it? Seriously, all the info you need to make an informed decision is available at the Referendum Commission’s site.

But in key with the level of debate and quality of argument we’ve seen from both sides (VOTE YES says, “I wear a suit. Say yes to me. Also, remember me in the local elections”. VOTE NO says, “Monkeys will replace Irish farmers and we’ll all have to marry gay men from Berlin. Votáil Níl”) I have decided to share with you the major reason I am voting no. As I understand it, the Lisbon Treaty means that Irish people will never again be allowed to eat bananas because they can’t decide if they are a fruit or not. Damn fascists! This isn’t written into the text, you understand. But it is a fear that an unelected politician on a local news programme shared with me.

Men died for my freedom, allegedly. A poster told me. So I am voting yes to democracy. Which means I am voting no to Lisbon. A democratic referendum to decide the future of the EU that has only been put to Irish people.

Your Correspondent, When confused, he hangs absurd posters off streetlights

